Change is a coming…

I know I’ve been terrible about updating regularly (that is the nice thing about not having any followers – you don’t let anyone down – heh). I find it takes so much less energy to read other’s blogs and comment there than actually spend time on my own.

A lot’s been going on though. Primarily, the fact that my toddler is starting preschool in 3 weeks.  It still seems too soon even though I know she’s ready — and I won’t lie that I’m honestly not clear how we are going to afford the monthly tuition– which frankly, is about the cost of a one bedroom apartment.

I’ve known this was coming but with all the business travel I’ve had as of late, it kind of snuck up on me!

This past Wednesday, we attended a New Parent Orientation at my daughter’s upcoming school. This adults only gathering was designed to orient parents to their child’s new teachers and the administrators. And, by the way, I noticed something very interesting about people who work with children. They talk to adults like they’re children too.

Preschool Director: Now, there are a LOOOOT of forms for you guys to fill out, so, I would suggest that you divide it up over a couple of nights and sit down with a cup of tea or wine to tackle them. If you’re like me and love filling out forms you’re going to have a great time, but, if not, well, you might want to ask your partner to fill out half of them. I know it’s a LOOOOT of forms but when you come for your child’s first day at school, you MUST have them all filled out or your child won’t be able to come into class.

And with this she busts out a big smile and I’m thinking “Why the hell is she smiling? She’s basically scolding us and trying to make it look like she’s playing nice.”

Great – I’m already annoyed.

But, that annoyance was already set into motion when I noticed on the “forms” that the monthly tuition had gone up 5%. I had finally adjusted to the fact that we were going to be paying a monthly mortgage in tuition so when I suddenly saw a new more expensive figure and later learned that the tuition increases 5% every July, I was more than a little pissed. It would have been nice to know this ahead of time…I mean, we ARE in a recession people. And, sadly, the only increase I expect to see at my job is the workload.

But, anyhow, I digress…

I am really excited for Ellie to take this next step but I’m nervous about how she is going to adjust. How hard it will be for her. Will she be clingy? Crying? Asking for Mommy?

She’s been happily attending a small home daycare for the last 2+ years where she is only one of 8 kiddies being spoiled by the most loving Peruvian women you could ever meet. Something tells me the new Preschool is going to be a little different. First of all, there are going to be about 3x as many kids. Secondly, one of the teachers is male and I’m sorry, but, I can’t help but wonder what a young guy is doing teaching kids.

And then there is the drop off situation where about 80-100 parents are dropping off their kids around the same time.  That should be fun– especially when I have a 9am meeting to get to. I should probably set up a new fund now for all of the speeding tickets I’m going to be getting.

Ah well, I’m sure it will all work out. Right? And, if it doesn’t, well, I can always homeschool.

That last part was a joke.

2 Responses to “Change is a coming…”

  1. I’m sitting here just laughing out loud at my desk. Your description of the preschool director/teacher: hilarious and so true. The same thing happened to us with the tuition increase when we started Griffin. Why do they never tell you that part?

  2. Grins I happened upon your blog and have now read alot of your posts and I have loved them all… I very much enjoy the honesty in which you relate and your inner dialogue, your personality shines through your writing so well ( well my perceptions of your personality *smiles*)
    Thank you for sharing and thank you for the smiles your posts give… You have a gift for writing not sure if that is a part of your profession? If not perhaps writing as a career should be a consideration, as writing in a forum in which others read and digest your words and really get it and relate to it IS a rare gift… As we say here in australia, Im not pissing in your pocket lol Im just saying…

    Wishing you and your hubby and little girl much happiness along your journey… Chris …

Leave a Reply

